Peer Pressure vs Morals

Hi everyone,

I need to remind everyone of this;  whatever I write in these blogs are: my testimonies, experiences, struggles, things I have witnessed, my beliefs and my opinions.  I am NOT a counselor or psychologist.  Now that that is out of the way, lets dig into this topic.

Last week in class, we were looking at the history of Early Childhood Education and we were checking out Socrates.  I was impressed with how they said he sought to discover the universal principle of truth, beauty and goodness, which he believed should govern human conduct.  This Athenian Philosopher stressed the ethical principle that a person should strive for moral excellence…..Wow!!! moral excellence!!! Is it possible?
My opinion is that we all should strive to attain moral excellence.  Lets get into the meat of the matter.

According to dictionary.com morals are:

  1. concerned with the principles or rules of right conduct or the distinction between right and wrong; ethical: moral attitudes.
  2. expressing or conveying truths or counsel as to right conduct, as a speaker or a literary work.
  3. founded on the fundamental principles of right conduct rather than on legalities, enactment, or custom: moral obligations.
  4. capable of conforming to the rules of right conduct: a moral being.
  5. conforming to the rules of right conduct ( opposed to immoral ): a moral man

Here are a few synonyms for the word moral: integrity, behaviour, morality, conduct, manners, belief and ethics…..  Therefore morals are doing and being good.  Check this comic strip out.  What will poor Deb do?  Will she succumb to peer pressure or stand up for her morals?  What would you do in a situation like this?

Peer pressure

What is peer pressure?                                                                                                                           Dictionary.com say that peer pressure is social pressure by members of one’s peer group to take a certain action, adopt certain values, or otherwise conform in order to be accepted.
All of us have dealt with peer pressure at one time or another.  I can remember in my teenage years, my best friend who was younger than I was called me one day and told me all the gross details of how she gave away her virginity.  I was shocked and felt stupid.  What do I mean by that?  Well, after I was given every last detail and we hung up.  My thoughts were, how could that have happen?  I am older than she was and she went and had sex before me.  I was stupidly determined to get a boyfriend and do the same.  I felt like I was behind in this game and that I had to keep up with her.  I felt pressured indirectly to follow my best friend.  After all what was wrong with having sex if my bestie was doing it.  Long story short, I did not look for a boyfriend and I did not have sex.  Actually, I gave my heart to the Lord shortly after that.   No, not like a week after.  Maybe months after.  Thank you God…:) 🙂  So I kept my morals in tact here because it was my belief that we were to be married before having sex.  Yes, even as a teenager that was my belief and of course I still believe that today.
I know it’s not just about being pressured to have sex.  It is also being pressured to: do drugs, steal, hate, bully others, wear inappropriate clothing – to show all your God given assets, to disrespect people or your parents because only cool kids do that.  NOT!!!  It’s being pressured to: deny being a Christian or to hide it.  I was pressured too but I got saved early and so God helped my not to succumb to certain things but there were a few that I did succumb to and I regret those up to this day.
What am I saying?  If you are being pressured to do anyone of these things I listed, I implore you/urge you to tell a responsibly adult about it.  Tell your parents if you can, your pastor or a school counselor.
It is your life and you are the one who will have to face the consequence/s.  Keep your morals in tact, keep your integrity in tact.  It is not cool to the wrong, IT IS STUPID!!!!!
May God’s wisdom guide us.
Talk soon
6 thoughts on “Peer Pressure vs Morals

  1. THE MATH BOOK AND THE BIBLE
    It seems odd that people believe the “Math Book” to be inerrant, but question the infallibility of the “Bible” when it does not suit their doctrinal positions.

    MATH BOOK: Chapter 2 page 7 Two plus two equals four.

    Did you ever hear anyone say Ch 2.7 is not included in some versions of the Math Book, therefore; two plus two does not equal four? No, everyone trusts the Math Book.

    BIBLE: Mark 16:16 He who has believed and has been baptized shall be saved; but he who has disbelieved shall be condemned.

    Some believers say this verse is not included in some translations of the Bible; therefore water baptism has nothing to do with your salvation. Leading some to believe the Bible cannot be trusted.

    MATH BOOK: Chapter 2 page 7 Two plus two equals four.

    What if a math teacher said, “In my opinion two plus two equals seven?” Would you believe that? No, you would believe the Math Book.

    BIBLE: 1 Peter 3:21 Corresponding to that, baptism now saves you—not the removal of dirt from the flesh, but an appeal to God for a good conscience—through the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

    Some preachers say baptism has nothing to do with salvation. I guess the Bible is in error once again.

    MATH BOOK: Chapter 2 page 7 Two plus two equals four.

    If you looked in the Math Book commentary and it said that two plus two equals four is a mistake; because in the original language it means two alone equals four and the other two was mistranslated. Would you believe the commentary? No, you would believe the Math Book.

    BIBLE: Acts 2:38 Peter said to them, “Repent, and each of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

    Some men say that “for” has been mistranslated and should be translated as “because of.” Should you trust what some men say or trust the Bible?

    Believers and non-believers alike never question that Hannibal crossed the Alps on elephants. No one doubts that George Washington was the first president of the U.S.A. We understand that Christopher Columbus crossed the Atlantic in three small boats, no question about. The only proof we have confirming these historical facts are books. We trust history books written by men, however,we doubt the facts recorded in the Bible.

    THE MATH BOOK: We trust to be infallible!
    THE BIBLE: Many believers say it has been mistranslated; therefore, we can adjust the facts to comply with our doctrinal view.

    1 Peter 1:25 But the word of the Lord endures forever….

    Can anyone find God’s truth if they believe they are searching for truth in a FUZZY Bible?

    (All Scripture quotes from: NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE)

    YOU ARE INVITED TO FOLLOW MY CHRISTIAN BLOG. Google search>>> steve finnell a christian view

    • Well said and so true. I am always amazed at people who try to convince me that the bible is in error, when their evidence is from some other book, written by some famous historian etc. When I say to them how do they know that this person has the facts, they are never able to answer, they always change the subject.

      God’s word is factual and final whether anyone believe it or not.

  2. Hey god 2mii jodi thako tahole tumi bichar koro j ami sourav paul naram mon amr ami kno pap korii kno din karor khthii korte chai niii tobe amr sathe airkm hocha kno, kno ami durbol bole tai, ami jodi kno pap kore chilam j sei paper saja amake deoa hochaa tumi bolo god hey baba gonesh, bajarang boli oidin tumar dujoner samne amake marloo amr mona kosta dilo…. hey god tumraa jodi thake thakoo taholee er bichar tumra koro… r ami eikhane thakte thakte koro…. nahole amr biswas tomar upor thake uthe jabe toba jai koro amr samne koro ami dekte caii papi jara tader ki durgoti hoiii…. amii kichu bolbo naa ami naaai chaii aaj amr sathe keo neii…. Jodi tumra thake thako tahola tumrai achoooo… hey god bichar koro

    • Hi,

      I tried to find a site that would translate what you wrote because I do not understand, unfortunately I did not.

      Kind translate what you wrote to English please.

      Tasha

Leave a Reply

