Idols & Rejection (Pt. 2)

Hola a todos, bonjour tout le monde, bonjour à tous, salut, 大家好, שלום לכולם, 皆様今日は, हर हैलो and Hello everyone,

Continuing from my last blog.  Another definition for idol is, any person or thing regarded with blind admiration, adoration, or devotion.

I am a very adventurous person, therefore, I am inviting you to explore this question with me; why do people create and worship idols?  I want to share this with you before we start exploring.  On the island here, we are lovers of the device called the BB (Blackberry) Cell phones.  Most owners of this device can not live without it.  I travel on the public transportation and in a taxi one evening, a driver was speaking about a young lady who was hit down by a car.  Anyway, He was laughing and I thought that he was being callous but as he continued with the story I understood why he found it funny.  According to the driver this young lady was hit by a car and as she got up the first thing she was freaking out about was her BB.  She wanted to know that her BB was safe and not harmed.  Say what!!!!  I do not know if this taxi driver was speaking the truth but here on the Island there is a saying ” if it nuh go suh, it near suh” meaning if it is not true, it is partially true.  If this story is true then it is obvious that this young lady’s BB is an idol in her life.

Exploration time!!!  Why do  people create and worship idols?  In my opinion some persons create and worship idols because they need to be in control.  They get to decide how the image will look, where it will be placed and what power it should have.  What kind of god is that? That is not a god; if us human beings have to create it with their own hands and of course with perishable material, if we have to decide what power it has and, if it is our chose what the requirements are of serving these idols/gods then in my opinion that is not God.  For instance, some believe it is right to kill people they deem not worthy of living, some believe it right to cheat on their wives/husband and with other married people, some believe that after death there is remission for sins, and, all their families have to do is give a large amount of money or maybe before they die they pay a lump sum of money to secure a place in heaven.  That sounds like extortion to me and a con.

Let me tell you something, the spiritual world is real and these idols/gods that people have or play around with has spirits of darkness attached to them.  These spirits of evil do have some power to make certain things happen but their is always some high cost.  For instance: they require blood, so people have to sacrifice maybe there children or other people’s children and animals.  Some require there subjects to drink blood and to commit all sorts of veil acts.  Some of these spirits command their followers to commit suicide in the form of blowing up themselves and in turn causing havoc for other people.

There are so many idols/gods out there, it is crazy!  There is: the god of the sun, god of the moon, god of water, god of riches, god of the sea, god of strength and I could go on and I will go on.  Some people have animals as gods; animals that we eat for food.  I am saying this without apology those are not God.  There is one true God and He is the creator of the universe and everything in it.  He is not created by human.  We do not decide what power He has or where He should be placed.  He is the Omnipotent, Omniscient and Omnipresent God.  That means God is the all-powerful, knows everything and is present everywhere.  He knows what we think before we think it.  He is God the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, the three in one God.  He is God who sent His Son Jesus Christ to die on the cross for us.

Jesus Christ was the sacrifice for our souls because the reward for sin is death hence, when we sin we should be killed/ put to death but Jesus died for all of our sins already.  When the spirit of death was to pass through Egypt to kill all their first-born.  God told Moses to “Then they are to take some of the blood and put it on the sides and tops of the door frames of the houses where they eat the lambs.” Exodus 17:7 and the reason God told them to do this was because “The blood will be a sign for you on the houses where you are; and when I see the blood, I will pass over you. No destructive plague will touch you when I strike Egypt.” Exodus 12:13.  What am I saying? I am saying that it is only through Jesus Christ can our sins be forgiven.  I am not trying to force my belief on you but I did tell you that I would share what I believe and the truth.  Kindly note that Jesus Christ Rose from the grave after three days of being dead hence, He is alive!!!!

Another reason people create and worship idols……..

TO BE CONTINUED..

I would appreciate your thoughts on this topic.  Do you have anything to add or is there anything you would subtract from what I said?

Also, note that I only speak English, Creole and very basic Spanish.

Talk soon

Leave a Reply

