The topic is still rejection

Hi beloved,

I hoped you have reflected on the questions I asked in my previous blog.

Let me share a bit about myself.  I am a believer in Christ Jesus.  I believe that He is the Son of God.  I don’t believe in forcing my beliefs on others but I will share them.  I am presently perusing a degree in Early Childhood Education and I love working with children.  I struggle with rejection due to the fact that my father abandon my mother and I; and, because I have been hurt too many times to count.  Anyway, my last heart wrenching rendezvous with rejection  made me feel so weak and tired that I decided to do something about it.

We were created to love and to be loved.  There is this song that we sing on the Island that says “no man is an island and no man stands alone….”.  This song is so true but because we fear being rejected, we fool ourselves in believing that we don’t really need anyone and that we can make it on our own.  We can’t!  Rejection also makes us believe that we are not truly loved; that we are a bother to others and that it is better we did not exist.  Rejections makes us believe that people are just pretending to care and in turn we just wait for them to “show their true colours”.  We don’t really give people a genuine opportunity to love us; we just set them up to fail because in our minds they are going to hurt us anyway.  True?

Let us start the healing process.  Let me just say that I am a  Christian and I believe that God the Holy Spirit is our healer.  Therefore, I will be trusting Him for my healing and yours.

I need you to answer these questions.  Who are you?  What is your identity?

After you have done this, if your answers and positive, I want you to say it aloud with meaning as you look at yourself in the mirror.   If your answers were negative, I want you to write the opposite of those negative words.  For instance, say you wrote “I am ugly” you need to change the word ugly with the word BEAUTIFUL.  If it is not as easy as saying the opposite then find positive things to replace the negatives, even if you don’t believe them at first.  Below I have started writing my list of positives about myself.

I am unique, there is none like me, no one can do what I was created to do – they might be able to do something similar but that’s it.  I am compassionate, caring, helpful most times, I am gifted in working with children, I am a joy to be around when I am not tired physically or hungry.  I could go on and on.   In my next blog I will tell you what God says your identity is in Him…

Let me know how it went.

Until later.

May God’s peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

